Log in

No account? Create an account
Randy, Lamb of God

twisted_satyr in metal_muses


Here is your (very belated) weekly album review!!! In order to get this place more active, I'm going to start advertising around.

Kamelot - Siege Perilous

* Providence (05:36)
* Millennium (05:14)
* King's Eyes (06:14)
* Expedition (05:41)
* Where I Reign (05:58)
* Rhydin (05:03)
* Parting Visions (03:33)
* Once A Dream (04:24)
* Irea (04:32)
* Siege (04:20)
* One Day (04:07)

This is Kamelot's first album with Roy Khan on as vocals, as well as Casey Grillo on the drums, if I'm not mistaken. This should be an interesting listen, considering how much the band has grown musically and how much Khan has grown as far as his singing abilities are concerned. Although Vanderbilt was a decent singer, I have to say I'm not sad to see him gone. Roy Khan is, truth be told, so much better. The copy I purchased was imported from Japan, so it has "One Day" on it. The other copies do not.


The song starts out slow, but strong guitarring comes in soon afterwards. You can tell that Roy Khan is almost trying to pick up where Vanderbilt left off, almost. You can hear a bit of his own personal touch at the bridge, but the NWOBM-sound comes right back. A pretty decent guitar solo (despite what Youngblood says, I still think he shreds and probably can't help himself). There's a good vocal touch by Khan at about 04:22 in, and the keyboarding is a nice touch and keeps the song from becoming too repetitive.


Very catchy keyboarding intro, and the guitars join in soon afterwards. This song, I think, is the first one on the album that shows us what Khan can really do. Strong presence of the keyboards in this one, which is pretty refreshing. Most impressive vocal work by Khan during the chorus; it's reminiscent to me of Hansi Kursch's vocal work on some of Blind Guardian's songs, with the different layers of vocals. An almost trippy outro, though.


This song starts out pretty epically, and the riff itself creates a pretty epic sound. This was, of course, back when they kept the theme of their songs around their namesake to an extent. The chorus is awfully catchy, and the instrumental interlude is great; very keyboard-oriented, but lovely. Acoustic guitar soon comes in for the bridge, and compliments Khan's oh-so-gorgeous voice well. X3 Of course, it's too good to last, and the main riff comes back in.


This song is INSANELY catchy, dear god. Awesome riffs throughout, and just great everything. XD Definitely one of my favorite songs on the entire album. This song is extremely guitar oriented, and it does not disappoint. A very nice solo at about 03:20 in or something. The outro is definitely head-bang worthy, that's for sure.


Starts out with a nice flute-sound, followed by the guitars. This song is more of a power ballad than anything. Khan's vocals really shine in this song, I think. If none of the other songs convinced early fans of Kamelot that he was a decent vocalist, this song certainly did. The solo is a bit heavy for this song, but somehow, it all pulls together and works. It ends again with the flute from the intro, but it's a nice end to the song.


This song has a pretty even tempo to it, very powerful-sounding. Nice synth work on Pavlicko's part. It all builds up to a catchy chorus. Very strong solo with both guitars and keyboarding fairly prominent. It's a good song - and could have become a fan favorite easily. Outro's catchy as well.


Strong drumming in the beginning, here, but replaced by strong keyboarding and the main riff. This song is the shortest one on the entire album. There's a prominent organ sound during the verses and chorus, which I find to be a bit peculiar - you don't usually hear that kind of stuff on metal albums, but it works with this. It sounds a bit otherworldly almost.


This song, if you listen to the first few seconds, sounds like a fast-paced song, but do not be deceived by appearances! A soft piano sound comes in, and the song's theme is actually sad. This is another power ballad, with the strong keyboarding, acoustic guitaring, and the subject matter. A sad theme, but an uplifting tune.


This song also features strong keyboarding (which was not present in their previous two albums). A march-like tempo, and catchy riffs. This song's easy to get lost into. It's pretty catchy, and the last song with vocals on the US and European version of the album.


This is an instrumental track. It has an epic sound, thanks to the keyboards and guitars. The name of the album, Siege Perilous, comes from the name of the chair which is reserved by Merlin at the Round Table for the knight who will one day fulfill the quest for the Holy Grail. The original name, the Perilous Seat, is named so, for any knight who is not the one to fulfill the quest who sits in the chair dies. This song, may be inspired by the tale or Galahad's quest for the Holy Grail, who knows? Either way, it is a VERY good song, with a bit of a Spanish guitarring in the middle, and gives it more of a progressive sound than a power metal one.


This is the bonus Japanese track. This song is simply GORGEOUS. The tune is beautiful, and, thankfully, it isn't interrupted by any electric guitars. There's a violin/cello in the background with the acoustic, and just yeah. It's just beautiful. Gorgeous song.

Here's a couple of sample's, as usual.

Kamelot - Siege

Kamelot - One Day